What is the Colorado River Compact?

The Colorado River Compact states
Spread the love

The Colorado River Compact is a deal between seven western states who get rights to parts of the Colorado River. The agreementOpens in a new tab. was first approved by President Hoover in 1922 and there have been some amendments after that.

The compact divides the river into two sections:

The Upper Basin includes ColoradoOpens in a new tab., New MexicoOpens in a new tab., UtahOpens in a new tab. and WyomingOpens in a new tab.. The Lower Basin made up of NevadaOpens in a new tab., ArizonaOpens in a new tab. and CaliforniaOpens in a new tab..  The Colorado River CompactOpens in a new tab. divides about 15 million acre-feet of water between the two basins, if that much water is actually available.

According to the Water Education FoundationOpens in a new tab., after the Lower Basin states and Mexico receive their shares of the river, then the Upper Basin states keep the remaining water supply in the Colorado River. Water is measured and distributed to the Lower Basin states at Lee’s Ferry, which is on the Arizona and Utah border and shown in the picture above.


My name is Breiten. I live in St. Johns Arizona. I'm 14 and my hobbies include playing video games and chilling with my two dogs Ranger and Lady who are the sweetest dogs in the world. I live with my family of five and have two annoying siblings. I’m currently in Middle School and going into High School next year. I haven’t written any books so I’m not technically an author, but this is my author bio.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Recent Posts

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Skip to content